Kissing the Asses of the Internets

July 9, 2008 at 12:15 am 4 comments

I think everyone basically begins their first blog post with the inevitable “why I started blogging” info, so here goes.  I basically stumbled upon my first blog about a year ago and got drawn into everyone posting their own stories, and receiving a metric (yes, metric – I’m Canadian) shitload of support from the blogging community and felt guilty for doing a whole lot of reading and no dishing of my own.  I also got sick of having to leave “anonymous” comments and having people probably wonder “who the hell is this creeper?”.  The more I read and saw how connected everyone is, the more I felt like I wanted to share and maybe – just maybe have one of the great writers that I have lurked for the past while possibly comment on one of my posts.  So, in a sickeningly pathetic effort to have the internets love me – here go the shout outs (in no particular order!) –

 

Single Girl in the City – Reading this while being in a relationship with a guy who has some definite Joe-tendencies  makes me feel like I have a kindred spirit.  Like really? Leaving your underwear on the kitchen floor – completely unacceptable.  And responding that you do it because you know it drives me crazy and saying that you would have picked it up but I picked it up first?  That shit makes me want to pull my hair out.  I’ll kick your ass Joe Jr.   

Favourite quote:  Relationships are not PC and you are allowed to pursue a mate that meets your standards without feeling judged or bad about it. Dating is not an equal-opportunity sport. It’s just not and it never will be. ACCEPT IT.” (Single Girl in the City). 

 

 

Molly – the Shoeru.  A girl after my own heart, who seems to have an incredible fiancée, an incredible dog and an incredible shoe collection that I lust over (just the shoes, and the dog – not so much the fiancée).  And any girl that can post about being super-disgruntled about her deodorant being discontinued?  Totally okay, because mine (yet another Secret variety) has also gone AWOL.  Don’t they realize consumers of the female variety are infinitely loyal? And that it’s inhumane to force us to resort to buying crates of deodorant on Ebay, that we’re hoping are new?   

Most-like-me quote:  So here I am, pondering where my adolescence went and wearing my stockings and crossing my fingers that I don’t put a run in them. I can totally see a quarter-life crisis in my future (Molly).

(My mother and I have battles of epic proportions whenever she sees me at some family event and I am not wearing stockings.  I REFUSE.  They always run in the most awkward places (never on the ass or anything, where they are COVERED but always mid-calf) and who needs to feel like they have a pair of underwear hanging somewhere around the mid-thigh area? And what is up with the sizing charts? How are those supposed to be anywhere close to accurate?)

 

Leah – The girl who seems to be as free-spirited, yet as content as I long to be, and also lives a warm climate which serves to only increase my envy.  The sweet and playful nature of her relationship with Simon is what I wish for – someone who understands me and accepts me, quirks and all (something I see glimpses of with the boyfriend, but want to see more of).  I’m also increasingly jealous of her talent with photography – something I’ve always wished I had the eye for. 

There’s no way I can pick a favourite quote – she always seems to sum things up so eloquently and just well, perfectly. 

 

Slynnro – Fucking People…haha.  Can’t hide my love for this one.  Being someone who constantly wonders “What are they THINKING?” loves seeing someone else who does the same.  People are crazy and don’t even realize it and their words and actions become fodder for ME to relate to friends and family.  And also – the gym?  There are rules people – wear deodorant, never go right beside someone if there are empty machines and PLEASE don’t grunt and groan while you are lifting 20 lbs you big strong man.  Oh, and doing back extensions on an exercise ball? It makes you look like you’re humping it which no one needs to see at 5:30 in the morning. 

Favourite:  the nicknames for the husband – my boyfriend and I come up with new nicknames for each other weekly but we are still closet-nicknamers.  Heaven forbid one of us actually refers to the other by a nickname in public…in front of people. 

 

Tessie – The girl who can drop an “F” bomb in such a poetic way.  I adore her critiques of Texas and how can you not enjoy someone who introduces you to the term “Seasonal Cookies” and has a perfect way of describing your gut-wrenching anxiety as “Nervous Tummy”.  Her way of describing everything makes me laugh out loud and always, always brightens my day (sorry if that is too close for comfort for the “Emotional Cripple”).  Also, I’m also a short one and am always on new health kicks!  See – similarities abound!

 

Favourites:  Tessie-isms! 

 

Basically that’s my intro to the things I love about all of your writing and hopefully all of you will become readers of mine as well.  Welcome to my life – so, this is it?!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And you are?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  July 9, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Welcome to the blog world and thanks for the shout out! Looking forward to hearing more from you 🙂

    xoxo

  • 2. slynnro  |  July 10, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Aw, thanks!

    And I could personally write a website devoted to my love of Tessie.

  • 3. Tessie  |  July 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    God, that slynnro, what an ASS-KISSAH, huh? Hee! Love her too.

    Thanks for this! How fun! I’m glad you started blogging. I’ve never regretted it.

  • 4. Single Girl in the City  |  July 23, 2008 at 4:40 am

    Well, hello there! Thanks for the shout-out (they’ve gotta come up with a better name for that, btw) about my blog (and quote) and welcome to the blogosphere! I’m glad you’re here!

    If it makes you feel better, I’m 32 and *still* in my quarter-life crisis. At least, that’s the excuse I’m using. I figure, shit man, if I’m 32 and this is my quarter-life crisis than I’m gonna live to be like 128 or something, and well, that’s pretty damn cool.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…


