And you are?

July 10, 2008 at 11:14 am 1 comment

I think the random quirks are the most interesting parts of everyone – so I guess that the best way is to tell you about myself is to randomly pick an on-line personality test. The lucky winner is entitled “How Much of Your Life Have You Messed Up?”  (This should be good……)

 

1) Have you ever said you loved someone and didn’t mean it?

Okay, I’m just going to blurt this one out….yes.  But before anyone gets judgey (yes, I’ve decided it’s a word) – I was 17 and in a long distance relationship.  I had decided that it wasn’t working out and that I wanted to break things off but I didn’t want to have to tell him over the phone, so I told him I loved him on the phone every night for a week before he came to see me on the weekend and I could actually break up with him in person.  And quite honestly?  No regrets about it. 

 

2) Have you ever been suspended from school?

Um, no.  I was a total “smart kid” in all levels of school, and never got into trouble.  I was never even sent to the principal’s office – ever.  My only slight act of rebellion was in kindergarten.  Matt (who I am still friends with) was building a block tower and this girl Kristin kicked part of it over.  I happened to be mad at Matt that day because he wouldn’t play house with me so I told him I would help him fix it and proceeded to kick the rest of it over.  It didn’t take much to scare me straight – I had to stay in from recess and decided a life of crime just wasn’t for me.

  

3) Have you ever cheated on a test?

Please refer to answer #2.  I was way too chicken to even attempt cheating on tests.  What if I got caught and it ruined my GPA?  No way was it worth it.  I didn’t have quote such “upstanding” friends though.  My friend Tyler was a drinker even in high school and proceeded to write all of the answers for our geography test on his beer gut.  It definitely wasn’t the smartest idea ever and he definitely got caught.  This is also the friend who only has a good weekend if he’s spent a night of it in the drunk tank, so I guess none of this should be shocking. 

 

4) Have you ever been caught doing something you weren’t supposed to?

Even with all of the previous goody-goody answers, the answer to this question is yes!  When I was in high school our neighbours were going on vacation for a couple of weeks and asked if I would be able to feed their cat every night.  It worked well for about three days before I lost the keys to their house.  Cut to me trying to pry their basement window open with a screwdriver when the police drive by.  Difficult to explain, but I batted my eyelashes and twirled my hair and talked my way out of that sucker. 

 

5) Have you ever had drugs/alcohol below the legal age?

I’m still a non-drinker, it’s just something that has never agreed with me so I’ve always been the willing Designated Driver.  And call me crazy, but is there a legal age for drugs?  If there is, I’ve been missing out!

 

6) Have you ever been involved in gang violence?

I don’t really quite know what to make of this question. I think the answer to this is obvious and we should just be moving on….

 

7) Do your friends do some disapproving things?

Only the fun ones!  And isn’t that part of the reason you’re friends with people? So they can do crazy shit and then you can live vicariously and record-free through them?

  

8) Have you ever had an eating disorder?

As someone who now considers themselves a “Clean Eater” and a bit of a gym rat I’m sad to confess to this one.  As a girl who grew up figure skating, the pressure to be thin and tiny was always there, as were coaches who were always telling you to lose “just a little more weight”.  But, my love of food was a problem and I found throwing up a whole lot easier than starving myself.  It lasted about two years, and I’m lucky enough that it never seriously endangered my health.

 

9) Do you regret anything you have done?

I don’t.  Instead I regret things I haven’t done, which is a lesson in itself. 

  

The rest of the quiz just gets more and more depressing and that wasn’t my intention – I PROMISE!  So here’s the rundown.  I’m 24 and nearing my quarter-life crisis.  I’ve been out of school for a year and working at a well-paying job that pays the bills, but is by no means a dream job.  I work crazy long stressful hours in order to pay off student loans. Courtesy of Jim Halpert, “Right now this is just a job. If I advance any higher in this company, then this would be my career. And well, if this were my career I’d have to throw myself in front of a train.” Unfortunately I’m already considered management, so there may be some train-throwing in the near future.

 

I’ve been in a serious relationship with Alex for almost three years.  When it’s good it’s great and when it’s bad it’s brutal.  Right now we happen to be in an upswing, which means fewer relationship-related rampages for the viewers!  Although the rampages may make for good reading.  I love him a lot, but I still question whether it’s a forever-kind of love or a still-young-and-figuring-things-out kind of love.  Even on the bad days he can make me laugh and that’s something that I can’t imagine being without.  I think the hardest part seems is that he’s just not the “type” of guy I pictured myself with.  He’s more “the wrong side of the tracks” than “the boy next door”.  I know I need to get over that fantasy and realize that he’s a great guy and I’m lucky that he picked me. 

 

All in all, I’m content but my life isn’t exactly how I pictured it would be.  Is it ever though?  Do things ever turn out exactly how we had planned them when we were five years old?  If that was true I would be married and living in the city in a cute little house with a husband who wears a suit to work.  (I never really thought of a career for my pretend-husband, just anything that included a suit!) Instead, I travel for work and am constantly in and out of rented corporate apartments and hotels and my boyfriend makes deals to avoid ever having to wear a tie.  But, even though it’s not what I pictured – it’s all mine and I wouldn’t have it any other way.    

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kissing the Asses of the Internets Jules vs. Alex – Part 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. juliennejiggs  |  July 10, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Also – the smiley face before the eating disorder? Not my fault. It’s supposed to just be the number 8. Stupid emoticons. Note: I am NOT someone who uses emoticons. I stick with the sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…


