Who needs a career anyway?

August 13, 2008 at 3:56 pm 1 comment

I think most people my age (24 going on 25) struggle with the concept of what to do for the rest of their lives.  Life isn’t as simple as it used to be, especially when dealing with jobs and “careers”.  My parents graduated and were expected to find a job.  Many of those jobs granted security for life and few people ever strayed from that.  Now it seems like the tables have turned.  People no longer content to go to work everyday just because it pays the bills.  A job just isn’t good enough anymore.  People want a career.  I confess I am “people”. 

When I get stressed out about work Alex is constantly telling me that it’s just a job, but I can’t look at it like that.  Even though I know the current job I hold will not be a lifelong endeavour, I know that I want to be respected for being competent and doing my job well – whatever that job may be.  (Note the irony while I write this post at work – haha).  Sometimes I wonder though – have we all been brainwashed by the corporate mindset that is so pervasive in North America?  Really, it is just a job.  It’s not what defines me or determines my self-worth.  I should be able to leave work at the end of the day and just leave it there.  I shouldn’t stress about the to-do list that gets longer everyday or have dreams about letters I forgot to send (which I had in fact remembered).  But I do worry about these things, and I think we all do. 

I went to school for five years (not because it took me that long to do a 4 year program, it was actually a 5 year!) learning how to best protect the environment and I only spend 1% of my time actually doing that.  Maybe my stress would be more justified if I was working more in my field and making a contribution that I was more proud of.  But part of me feels guilty for even thinking these things because I really don’t have it all that bad.  I work for a company that has been nothing but good to me and truly believes in me.  I work with great people who make me laugh everyday and my job allows me to live a comfortable life financially and has allowed me to pay off more than half of my student debt in a year.  But it also makes me wonder if I have become a slave to a pay cheque.  I know that at this point, my pay needs to continually increase in order to keep up with the inevitable car payments, mortgages, weddings and children that are heading my way.  I know that if I want to make a change I need to do it NOW before I have any more financial commitments.  The problem is that I’m comfortable where I am now.  It’s like lying in bed on a Saturday morning when the sheets are the perfect temperature and you know you should get up, but you want to sleep just a little longer.  I know right now I’m slowly waking up, but I may need to hit the snooze button just a few more times.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Toothbrushes and Q-Tips The universe certainly has a sense of humour…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Deacon  |  January 3, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    If not for your writing this topic could be very coontluved and oblique.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…


