Birthday Bitterness

December 9, 2008 at 5:59 pm Leave a comment

Courtesy of Google ImagesPity party for one.  Today is my 25th birthday.  And I am spending it alone.  Since I travel during the week for work it means that I’m away from home.  Usually it’s not a big deal because Alex does the same thing.  We spend Monday – Thursday apart and then spend Friday – Sunday at home together.  He had been planning on coming to see me tonight at work, but just found out that he will probably have to work late, so most likely he won’t be making an appearance. 

I feel like such a whiner for even making this a big deal, but it’s hard enough that we only get to see each other three days a week and that this has been our life for more than three years.  And I know we both stick with the jobs we have because we have job security and we know we won’t be living this life forever, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not hard.  It’s draining and tiring and you get sick of doing laundry and grocery shopping all weekend, just so you can get through the next week.  I know most people live for the weekend, but with me it’s so much more than that.  I feel like the weekend is the only time that we get to live our life together and it’s so short.  I want us to be able to come home from work, make dinner, talk about our days and go to bed together and wake up together – everyday, not just a few times a week. 

In times like this I know that I should be thankful for our jobs and the financial security they give us.  But, truthfully?

I want us to have a regular life. 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Starting Traditions Shopping Helps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…


