Fake it ’til you make it (and delurking).

January 13, 2009 at 5:34 pm Leave a comment

It tends to surprise most people that I’m a girly-girl when it comes to makeup.  I love it.  I hoard it.  I have dreams that I went on a spree then I wake up pissed because I realize I really don’t have Diorshow mascara (this one happened just last week).  I love love love reading about products that other people are using, which is part of the reason I love Slynnro as much as I do.  The girl knows her shit. 

I figured it was about time for me to share my must-haves (aka:  there’s not a lot going on right now).  So here we go.

Until recently I hadn’t put much thought into my makeup bag.  I had been using one of those black drawstring bags that Sephora on-line purchases come in, just because I had a lot of stuff and I travel for work 4 days a week (also, because I was too lazy to get anything else).   Enter Alex’s mom who always comes up with the best Christmas gifts.  She got me a Fossil cosmetic case that holds EVERYTHING.  It also rolls up so it only takes up a tiny corner of my suitcase when I’m traveling. (I looked EVERYWHERE for a picture and it is nowhere to be found.  Trust me when I say it’s olive green and tan canvas and is super cute).   

The first thing I worry about is skincare.  Enter Murad.  Throughout high school I was one of the lucky girls who could use whatever cleanser was on sale and not really worry about her skin.  Then I started university and everything changed – it was acne city.  I tried everything short of Accutane and the only reason I didn’t try it was because it scared the hell out of me.  I started using Proactiv and things got 100 times better.  The only downfall was that it bleached EVERYTHING.  Pyjamas, towels, face cloths, sheets, pillow cases – my eyebrows even!  Then after being a faithful Proactiv convert for about a year and a half things got ugly.  My acne became worse than it had ever been before.  I started searching for a replacement and decided to give the Murad Acne Complex Kit a shot. 

Murad

I’ve read some mixed reviews about it but my skin has never looked more healthy.  My skin always looked flush and this makes my complexion look perfectly even and keeps the pimples at bay.  The only part of this kit that doesn’t agree with my skin is the spot treatment, but even with that it’s still cheaper for me to order the entire kit.  To my fellow Canadians – the last time I checked this still wasn’t available through Sephora in Canada so I order it directly from Murad. 

The next step is bareVitamins Skin Rev-er Upper

bareVitamins Skin Rev-er Upper

I apply this one on top of the exfoliating gel from the Murad kit, but under the lotion.  At first I didn’t know if it was doing anything for my skin so I stopped using it.  My complexion returned to it’s rosy ways and small pimples began to show up.  I’ve been using it devotedly ever since and it lasts forever!  I use one pump a day and this normally lasts me around six months. 

Along with acne-prone skin I’ve also been blessed with under eye circles and the only thing that can cover them without making me break out is Lancome Maquicomplet

Lancome Maquicomplet

This stuff covers everything and dries to a silky finish. 

Since I’m acne-prone I think I’ve also tried every possible kind of foundation and EVERYTHING made me break out.  During my last two years of university I stopped wearing make-up altogether (which was heartbreaking) just because I was tired of foundation just making my skin worse.  Then I decided to take a gamble on Bare Minerals

Bare Minerals Get Started Kit

Enter my skin care hero.  At first I hated it.  HATED IT.  The powders seemed tricky and they always spilled all over my bathroom.  But my persistence paid off, my skin became clearer and it never looks irritated.  If you’re thinking about trying Bare Minerals, try the Get Started Kit. You get two shades of the foundation (so you can figure out which one works for you), plus Mineral Veil (awesome) and Warmth (bronzer), plus a bunch of brushes.  The new kit comes with Prime Time primer which is okay, but I’m not crazy about.  I only use it on special occasions because even though it does keep greasiness at bay it also can make me break out. 

I also use all of Bare Minerals blushes and all-over face colour and I have the following shades:

Warmth

Warmth All-Over Face Colour 

A Little Sun

A Little Sun All-Over Face Colour

Tropical Radiance

Tropical Radiance All-Over Face Colour

Beauty

Beauty Bare Minerals Blush

My favourite combination is Warmth with a little Tropical Radiance on top.  I also like Beauty when I want to look flushed and flirty.  A Little Sun is nice for the summer but tends to be too dark for me and my pale skin during the long Canadian winter.  I know Warmth looks pretty dark but for some reason it looks AMAZING once you put it on. 

I’m pretty noncommittal when it comes to eyeshadow.  It’s something I just refuse to spend a lot of money on because it all seems to crease anyway.  I tend to buy Rimmel eye shadow in the single shades.  This way I don’t but a palette of colours and only end up wearing one or two of them.  Plus, they’re like $3.00 so that never hurts.  I particularly love the “Romance” shade and have been using it daily for the last five or six years. 

I am completely inept when it comes to putting on eyeliner, but the one I can manage is the Automatic Eye Liner by Quo (available at Shopper’s Drug Mart).  I tend to stick to the Cocoa Brown but that’s only because I’m so fair that black looks way too harsh.  Quo also has a great eyeliner brush which I sometimes use with dark eye shadows to create my own liner.

It’s hard to find a good mascara and it’s especially frustrating when you fall in love with an expensive option just because you have to toss it so often.  I had searched high and low and finally found Lancome Hypnose.  Then I heard a lot of people saying that CoverGirl Lash Blast was similar and way cheaper, so I figured I may as well try it. 

CoverGirl Lash Blast

This stuff is awesome.  Rich, full, black lashes and the waterproof version does not smudge or clump.  True mascara love for under $10!  The only part that is slightly strange is the rubber brush and it takes some time to get used to. 

Lips are a difficult thing for me.  The skin around them tends to break out easily and for years I was stuck with just using Cherry Chapstick (just call me Katy).  Then I tried Guerlain Kiss Kiss Stick Gloss

Kiss Kiss Stick Gloss

It’s the perfect middle ground between a lipstick and a gloss and comes in pretty semi-sheer colours, perfect for my casual office.  And the packaging is beautiful.  You really don’t mind carrying this one around in your purse. 

My finishing touch is always Benefit High Beam on the inside corners of my eyes and just under my brow bone.  It makes you look instantly awake which is good when I have to get up at 4 am for work! 

High Beam Luminizer

So, there you have it – the craptastic load of make-up I use to look “naturally” beautiful.  Apparently I missed some sort of de-lurking day, so for the 4 of you who have actually made it through this enormous post, what are your beauty products that you CANNOT live without?  Or let me know something new that I should be trying! 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The things boys do. Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…


