Guilty Pleasures – The Music

January 16, 2009 at 1:06 pm Leave a comment

I’ve always loved listening to music.  When I was six years old all I wanted for Christmas was a CD player.  I got my first two CDs that year too – Ace of Base and Michael Bolton.  The first was trendy for my parents (I’m sure they got the idea for that one from my older brother) and the second only served to further exemplify my family’s blatant whiteness (yes, I made it up).  There’s really nothing better than a balding white man with a mullet belting out a ballad to make you really believe in love.

As I got older my tastes in music began to change, evolve, diversify.  My dad was constantly telling me to turn that “hippy music” down.  I listened to everything – Pearl Jam, Counting Crows, Nirvana, Sheryl Crow, The Tragically Hip, Sarah Harmer, Alanis Morrissette, Van Morrison, Offspring, Smashing Pumpkins, Jewel, TLC, Real McCoy, Ella Fitzgerald, Third Day, U2, INXS – everything.  When I first moved in with my university roommate we had the usual discussion of what kind of music we liked.  My answer was, “Everything”.  After living together for a few months she came into my room and said, “You really do listen to everything.  I have no idea what I’m going to hear next”. 

Throughout all of my music listening there has always been a little bit of country mixed in, but I have a confession to make.  It’s sucking me in even deeper.  Ten gallon hats, huge belt buckles, tight jeans and cowboy boots.  It’s true – I’ve gone country.  Particularly chick country.  Particularly the Taylor Swift variety.  And I guess that I’m not the only one because the girl is selling a shitload of CDs and shee’s like 18 or something. 

Right now there is nothing I look forward to more that cranking Taylor Swift in my car and singing at the top of my lungs.  There, I said it.  I love Taylor Swift.  I will no longer be ashamed. 

So tell me, what’s your guilty pleasure music?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Happy Birthday Random Yumminess – Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweeting…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


